#### **AGENDA**

## ALASKA REGIONAL PORTS AND HARBORS CONFERENCE

10 -11 January 2008 at the Hotel Captain Cook 939 West 5<sup>th</sup> Ave, Anchorage, Alaska (907) 276-6000 or (800) 843-1950 **Conference Room: Fore Deck** 

## Thursday 10 Jan 2008

Thursday 10	<u>Jan 2006</u>	
7:30 – 8:00	Doors open for snacks and refreshments	
8:00 – 8:15	Administrative Items Structure of conference Expectations	Ms. Sarah Barton
8:15 – 8:30	Dena'ina Athabascan Welcome	Ms. Dorothy Cook, President Native Village of Eklutna
8:30 – 9:00	Navigation Vision for Alaska's Future	Col. Kevin Wilson Commander, Alaska District
9:00 – 9:30	View from Corps Headquarters Army Corps of Engineers	Mr. Gary Loew Chief, Civil Works Programs Integration Division
9:30 – 9:50	Climate Change Legislation	Mr. Arne Fuglvog Legislative Assistant Senator Lisa Murkowski
9:50 – 10:10	Denali Commission Perspective	Mr. George Cannelos Federal Co-Chair Denali Commission
10:10 – 10:30 Break		
10:30 – 10:50	Comparison of Infrastructure Development US Army Corps of Engineers, Pacific Ocean Division	Mr. Rich Schiavoni Chief, Civil Works Integration Division
10:50 – 11:50	Why are you here today? What is your response to the ideas you heard this morning Break-out groups and report back to group a	
11:50 – 1:00	Working lunch – Box lunch available from C Lunchtime Speaker: Perspective from Insid the Beltway	1

1:00 – 2:30 Presentations from Panel 1

Long-term vision for future of commercial transportation users

Number	Name	Organization/Affiliation
1	Mr. Steven C. Borell, P.E.	Executive Director,
		Alaska Miners Association
2	Mr. Bill Deaver	President and CEO Totem,
		Ocean Trailer Express
3	Mr. John Goll	Regional Director,
		Minerals Management Service
4	Mr. Mike Black	Deputy Commissioner,
		Alaska Department of Commerce
		Community and Economic
		Development
5	Mr. Marc Van Dongen	Port Director,
		Port MacKenzie

Panel Chair Questions Break-out groups This session moderated by Col. Kevin Wilson

#### 2:30 – 2:45 Break

# 2:45 – 4:30 Presentations from Panel 2 Long-term vision for future of commercial transportation providers

Number	Name	Organization/Affiliation
1	Ms. Tessa L.D. Rinner	Director of Programs,
		Denali Commission
2	Mr. Jeffery Ottesen	Director, Program Development
		Division Alaska Department of
		Transportation
3	Mr. Pat Gamble (Gen, ret.)	President and CEO,
		Alaska Railroad Corp.
4	Gov. Bill Sheffield	Director, Port of Anchorage
5	Mr. John Stone	President, State Harbormaster
		Association
6	Mr. Ben Ellis	Managing Director,
		Institute of the North

Panel Chair questions Break-out groups

This session moderated by Mr. Gary Loew

**4:30 – 5:00** Recap today's events and outline expectations for Day Two.

**5:00 to 7:00** Reception at Captain Cook Whale's Tail (no host)

#### **Friday 11 Jan 2008**

**7:30 – 8:00** Doors open for snacks and refreshments

**8:00 – 8:30** Administrative items

Review Day 1 Structure for discussion Ms. Sarah Barton

8:30 – 10:00 Presentations from Panel 3

Long-term vision for future of other government agencies

Number	Name	Organization/Affiliation
1	Capt. Michael Inman	Chief, Response Division
		17 <sup>th</sup> Coast Guard District
2	Mr. Phillip Oates (BG, ret.)	City Administrator, Seward
3	Mr. Michael Catsi	Executive Director, Southwest
		Alaska Municipal Conference
4	Mr. Peter Larsen	Nature Conservancy

Question and Answer Break-out groups This session moderated by Ms. Trish Opheen

**10:00 – 10:15** Break

10:15 – 11:45 Presentations from Panel 4

Long-term vision for future of Alaskan communities

Number	Name	Organization/Affiliation
1	Mr. Bob Juettner	Administrator, Aleutians East
		Borough
2	Mr. Eugene Asicksik	Past CEO, Norton Sound
		Economic Development Corp
3	Ms. Siikauraq Whiting	Mayor, Northwest Arctic
		Borough
4	Mr. Tom Harris	CEO, Tyonek Native
		Corporation
5	Ms. Molly McCammon	Director, Alaska Ocean
		Observing System

Panel Chair Questions Break-out groups This session moderated by Mr. Carl Borash

11:45 – 1:00 Working lunch – Box lunch available from Capt. Cook Hotel for \$12.50 Key Note Speaker: Alaskan Issues Congressman Don Young

1:00 – 2:00 Summary and Conclusions Ms. Sarah Barton

**2:00** – **3:00** Reporting Out

**3:00** – **3:15** Closing Comments Col. Kevin Wilson

3:15 Adjourn

For more information about the Corps of Engineers' Alaska District, visit our web site at: <a href="http://www.poa.usace.army.mil/en/cw/index.htm">http://www.poa.usace.army.mil/en/cw/index.htm</a>